

# Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda

Monday, February 5, 2024

2:00 – 3:50 p.m. in the Krause Center for Innovation (4006) and Zoom

Meeting ID: 852 6325 9763 Passcode: 907559

Dial by your location: (669) 900-6833 or (408) 638-0968

2023-24 Executive Committee Members (31): Officers: Voltaire Villanueva (President), Patrick Morriss (Executive Vice President), Ben Kaupp (Vice President of Curriculum), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Stephan Schnell; BSS: Brian Evans, Mona Rawal; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Leticia Serna; DRC/VRC: Ana Maravilla; FA/Comm: Robert Hartwell, Kate Jordahl; HSH: Rachelle Campbell, Frank Niccoli; KA: Rita O'Loughlin, Katy Ripp; LA: Rocio Giraldez Betron, Stephanie Chan; LRC: Destiny Rivera, Eric Reed; STEM: Sara Cooper; vacant; PT Reps: Roxanne Cnudde, Michael Chang; Other Members: ASFC: Joshua Agupugo; Classified: Adiel Velasquez; FacAssoc: Julie Jenkins; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft; Chair of COOL: Allison Lenkeit Meezan; Student Learning Outcomes Coordinator(s): Stephanie Chan, Kerri Ryer; Dean of Equity: Ajani Byrd; President's Cabinet: Stacy Gleixner;

#### 2.05.24 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Topic	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Villanueva	
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda	В		Villanueva	
4	2:05	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot	I			
5	2:10	discuss or take action) Approval of 1.08.24 Minutes	В		Villanueva	• <u>January 22,</u> 2024
6	2:12	Approval of Consent Calendar	В		Villanueva	See Consent Calendar
7	2:14	Community Agreements	I	Review guidelines for participation that cultivate a respectful, inclusive and productive environment for discussion and collaboration.	Villanueva	• Community Agreements
8	2:15	ASFC President Updates to the Academic Senate	I	ASFC President to share current student issues and receive faculty input	Agupugo	
9	2:25	Proposed Amendments to Regular Substantive Interaction (RSI) Documentation Model	D, A	Review and adopt amendments to the RSI model approved by COOL	Meezan, Villanueva	Model for     Documenting     RSI (Amended)     STEM     Discussion
10	2:45	Low-Cost Course Materials Designation	D, A	Establish a dollar amount for courses utilizing "Low-Cost Course Materials"	Villanueva	ASCCC     Resolution     De Anza     Affordable     Text &     Materials
	3:00	BREAK				
11	3:05	Yearly Course Requests	D	Discuss changes to the course scheduling timelines	Villanueva	• 2024-2025 Scheduling Chart
12	3:15	Resolution Recognizing Sustained Peace and Safety for All Students	I, D	Discuss a resolution recognizing the sustained efforts that create a peaceful and safe learning environment for all students	Morriss	Peace and     Safety     Resolution

13	3:20	Resolution to Separate Bylaws from the Constitution	D, A	Discuss and adopt a process directing senate officers to draft constitutional ammendements	Morriss	Bylaws     Resolution
14	3:25	AB 1111 Common Course Numbering	D, A	Provide an overview of AB 1111 and discuss possible action on how to approach this work	Kaupp, Gilstrap	• Common Course Numbering (slides)
15	3:40	Elections Committee	D	Identify a chair and two other faculty members to serve as members of the Election Committee (Article VI)	Morriss	Academic     Senate     Constitution

Stand	Standing Items					
16	3:47	For the good of the order (the Senate cannot take action)	В		All	
17	3:50	Close of meeting	В		Villanueva	

<sup>\*</sup>Times are approximate

## 2.05.24 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials
1	Approve Senate Appointments	2.05.24 Consent Calendar

## CALENDAR OF 2023-2024 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

Fall 2023 Quarter	Winter 2024 Quarter	Spring 2024 Quarter			
<del>October 2</del>	January 8	April 8			
<del>October 9</del>	January 22	April 22			
<del>October 23</del>	February 5	May 6			
November 6	February 26	May 20			
November 20	March 4	June 3			
December 4	March 18				

### **Remote Attendance Locations:**

1. 9500 Gilman Dr, La Jolla, CA

2. 800 Creek Drive, Boulder Creek, CA

#### **DISTRIBUTION:**

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate; Kristina Whalen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Laurie Scolari (VPSS); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Stacy Gleixner (VPI); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); Laura Wigod (Marketing); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Ron Herman (Dean FA/Comm); Aaron Korngiebel (Dean BSS); Mike Teijeiro (Dean KA); Anthony Cervantes (Interim Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Mark Barnes (Dean LRC); Zachary Cembellin (Interim Dean STEM); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Catalina Rodriguez (Acting Dean of Student Affairs); Anthony Cervantes (Dean of Enrollment); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Evan Gilstrap (Articulation Officer); Daphne Small (Student Affairs); Fatima Jinnah (GP Liaison); Natalie Latteri (GP Team Lead); Chris Chavez (GP Team Lead); Hilda Fernandez (GP Team Lead); Dokesha Meacham (GP Team Lead); Mary Vanatta (Curriculum Coordinator); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Kathy Perino (FA); Kathryn Maurer (FHDA Academic Senate President); Erik Woodbury (De Anza AS); Patrick Ahrens (Board of Trustees); Lee Lambert (FHDA Chancellor); Anu Khanna (Senior Advisor to the Chancellor); Nicole Nguyen (Foothill Student Trustee); Adiel Velasquez (Classified Senate President)

<sup>\*\*</sup>Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action (Actions typically require an agenda topic to have had two "reads" by the Executive Committee in order to allow for constituent input.)

<sup>\*\*\*</sup>Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to the Academic Senate website