

# Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda

Monday, October 9, 2023

2:00 – 4:00 p.m. in the Krause Center for Innovation (4006) and Zoom

Meeting ID: 852 6325 9763 Passcode: 907559

Dial by your location: (669) 900-6833 or (408) 638-0968

2023-24 Executive Committee Members (33): Officers: Voltaire Villanueva (President), Patrick Morriss (Executive Vice President), Ben Kaupp (Vice President of Curriculum), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Stephan Schnell; BSS: Brian Evans, Mona Rawal; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Leticia Serna; DRC/VRC: Ana Maravilla; FA/Comm: Robert Hartwell; Kate Jordahl HSH: Rachelle Campbell, Frank Niccoli; KA: Kelly Edwards, Katy Ripp; LA: Ulysses Acevedo, Rocio Giraldez Betron; LRC: Destiny Rivera, Eric Reed; STEM: Zachary Cembellin, Sara Cooper; PT Reps: Roxanne Cnudde, Michael Chang; Other Members: ASFC: Joshua Agupugo; Classified: Adiel Velasquez; FacAssoc: Jordana Griffiths; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft; Chair of COOL: Allison Lenkeit Meezan; Student Learning Outcomes Coordinator(s): Stephanie Chan, Kerri Ryer; Dean of Equity: Ajani Byrd; President's Cabinet: Stacy Gleixner;

### 10.09.23 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Topic	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Villanueva	
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda	В		Villanueva	
4	2:05	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)	I			
5	2:10	Approval of 10.02.23 Minutes	В		Villanueva	• October 2, 2023
6	2:12	Approval of Consent Calendar	В		Villanueva	See Consent Calendar
7	2:15	Review Community Agreements and the Academic Senate's Purview in Academic and Professional Matters	I	Promote inclusivity, ensure recognition, foster engagement	Morriss, Villanueva, All	<ul> <li>Community</li></ul>
8	2:35	Senate Goals	I,D	Identify, categorize, and analyze the primary goals of the Senate for the academic year	Cormia, Meezan, Morriss, Villanueva, All	Jamboard     Discussion of     Priorities     from District     Opening Day     Senate     Workshop
9	3:00	BREAK				
10	3:05	Asilomar Leadership Retreat	I	Share key observations and insights gathered from the campus leadership retreat	Morriss	
11	3:15	Amending the Senate Constitution and Bylaws	I,D	Clarify and modernize articles, address omissions, and improve functionality of the document	Morriss	• Academic Senate Constitution (2021)
12	3:30	Academic Senate Budget	I,D	Construct a comprehensive Academic Senate Budget which supports our faculty and students		• Treasurer's Report

Standing Items						
13	3:47	For the good of the order (the Senate cannot take action)	В		All	
14	3:50	Close of meeting	В		Villanueva	

<sup>\*</sup>Times are approximate

### 10.09.23 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials	
1	Approve Senate Appointments	10.09.23 Consent Calendar	

## CALENDAR OF 2023-2024 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

Fall 2023 Quarter	Winter 2024 Quarter	Spring 2024 Quarter
October 2	January 8	April 8
October 9	January 22	April 22
October 23	February 5	May 6
November 6	February 26	May 20
November 20	March 4	June 3
December 4	March 18	

#### **Remote Attendance Locations:**

- 1. 800 Creek Drive, Boulder Creek, CA
- 2. 13 S San Antonio Rd, Los Altos, CA

3. 9500 Gilman Dr, La Jolla, CA

## **DISTRIBUTION:**

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate; Kristina Whalen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Laurie Scolari (VPSS); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Stacy Gleixner (VPI); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); Laura Wigod (Marketing); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Ron Herman (Dean FA/Comm); Aaron Korngiebel (Dean BSS); Mike Teijeiro (Dean KA); Anthony Cervantes (Interim Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Mark Barnes (Dean LRC); Ram Subramaniam (STEM); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Catalina Rodriguez (Acting Dean of Student Affairs); Anthony Cervantes (Dean of Enrollment); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Evan Gilstrap (Articulation Officer); Daphne Small (Student Affairs); Fatima Jinnah (GP Liaison); Natalie Latteri (GP Team Lead); Chris Chavez (GP Team Lead); Hilda Fernandez (GP Team Lead); Dokesha Meacham (GP Team Lead); Mary Vanatta (Curriculum Coordinator); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Kathy Perino (FA); Kathryn Maurer (FHDA Academic Senate President); Erik Woodbury (De Anza AS); Patrick Ahrens (Board of Trustees); Lee Lambert (FHDA Chancellor); Anu Khanna (Senior Advisor to the Chancellor); Nicole Nguyen (Foothill Student Trustee); Adiel Velasquez (Classified Senate President)

<sup>\*\*</sup>Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action (Actions typically require an agenda topic to have had two "reads" by the Executive Committee in order to allow for constituent input.)

<sup>\*\*\*</sup>Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to Academic Senate website