

Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda Monday, February 10, 2025 2:00 – 3:55 p.m. in the Krause Center for Innovation (4006) and Zoom Meeting ID: 823 3995 1505 Passcode: 631666 Dial by your location: (669) 900-6833 or (408) 638-0968

2024-25 Executive Committee Members (33): Officers: Voltaire Villanueva (President), Patrick Morriss (Executive Vice President), Ben Kaupp (Vice President of Curriculum), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Stephan Schnell, Nate Vennarucci; BSS: Mona Rawal, Kerri Ryer; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Fatima Jinnah; DRC/VRC: Ana Maravilla; FA/Comm: Hilary Gomes, Eric Kuehnl; HSH: Lydia Daniel, Brenda Hanning; KA: Rita O'laughlin, Katy Ripp; LA:, Stephanie Chan, Amber La Piana; LRC: Destiny Rivera, Eric Reed; STEM: Rachel Mudge, Ryan Pugh; PT Reps: Michael Chang, Lynette Vega; Other Members: ASFC: Paulo Verzosa; Classified: Doreen Finkelstein; FacAssoc: Julie Jenkins; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft; Chair of Teaching with Technology: Allison Lenkeit Meezan; Student Learning Outcomes Coordinator: vacant; Faculty serving other roles: Evan Gilstrap Dean of Equity: Ajani Byrd; President's Cabinet: Stacy Gleixner;

2.10.25 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Торіс	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Villanueva	
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda	В		Villanueva	
4	2:10	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)****	I			
5	2:15	Approval of 1.27.25 Minutes	В		Villanueva	January 27, 2025 <u>Minutes</u>
6	2:20	Approval of Consent Calendar	В		Villanueva	See Consent Calendar
7	2:25	ASFC President Updates to the Academic Senate	I	ASFC President to share current student issues	Verzosa	
8	2:30	Use of AI Tools in Campus Meetings	I, D	Discuss the implications of AI tool usage in campus meetings and explore whether guidelines or recommendations should be established.	Morriss	
9	2:40	Teaching with Technology	D, A	Present updates on the expanded scope of the Teaching with Technology Committee, including the revised mission, vision, and goals, as part of the transition from the COOL committee to a broader focus on integrating technology	Meezan	 <u>Draft of Teaching</u> with Technology <u>Mission and</u> <u>Vision</u> <u>Statements</u>
10	2:50	Election Committee Formation	A	Nominate and confirm Executive Committee faculty members to the Election Committee per Article VI, Section 1.a	Villanueva	• <u>Article VI, Section</u> <u>1</u>
11	2:55	Education Master Plan Updates	I, D	Provide an overview of the current status of work from CBT and upcoming opportunities for faculty input	Villanueva, Gleixner	

	3:00	Break				
12	3:05	Multiple and Overlapping Enrollments	I, D	To review the increase in student requests for time conflict overrides, discuss Title 5 regulations (§ 55007) on multiple and overlapping enrollments, and consider the development of a college policy and approval process, including faculty input on a proposed form for documentation.	Villanueva	 <u>Title 5, Section</u> <u>55007</u> <u>Draft Petition</u> <u>to Allow Time</u> <u>Conflict Form</u>
13	3:15	New Laws Impacting Community Colleges in 2025	I	Review significant new laws affecting California Community Colleges in 2025	Villanueva	FHDA Board Presentation by MGI Advocacy
14	3:25	Developing a Program Discontinuance and Viability Process	I, D	Discuss the need for a formal Program Discontinuance and Viability Process at the college	Villanueva	<u>Framework</u> <u>Questions</u>
15	3:40	Lower Campus Name Change	I, D	First read of a resolution to honor Dr. Jean Thomas by naming the Foothill College Lower Campus Student Service Building	Morriss	<u>AS Draft</u> <u>Resolution</u> <u>FHDA Board of</u> <u>Trustees Draft</u> <u>Resolution</u>

Standing Items						
16	3:45	Officer & Committee Reports Mission Informed Planning Council 	I		All	
17	3:50	Announcements and for the good of the order (the Senate cannot take action)	В		All	
18	3:55	Close of meeting	В		Villanueva	

*Times are approximate

Action Legend: **B=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action

***Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to the Academic Senate website

****At this time, the public may address the Academic Senate on any matter within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Academic Senate that is not on the agenda. Each person who addresses the Senate must first be recognized by the Academic Senate President or designee. Comments should be addressed to the Senate as a whole and not to individual members. Members of the Senate are not obligated to comment on, or respond to, or address comments by the public.

2.10.25 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials
1	Approve Senate Appointments	2.10.25 Consent Calendar

Remote Attendance Locations:

 Lydia Daniel 12345 El Monte Road, Room 5203 Los Altos, CA 94022 In District: Yes Rita O'Loughlin

 1037 Taft Street
 Redwood City, CA 94061
 In District: No

CALENDAR OF 2024-2025 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

Fall 2024 Quarter	Winter 2025 Quarter	Spring 2025 Quarter
September 30	January 13	April 7
October 14	January 27	April 21
October 28	February 10	May 5
November 4	February 24	May 19
November 18	March 10	June 2
December 2	March 17	June 16 (retreat)

DISTRIBUTION:

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate; Kristina Whalen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Laurie Scolari (VPSS); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Stacy Gleixner (VPI); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); vacant (Marketing); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Ron Herman (Dean FA/Comm); Aaron Korngiebel (Dean BSS); Mike Teijeiro (Dean KA); Stephanie Crosby (Dean DRC/VRC); Isaac Escoto (Interim Dean Counseling); Mark Barnes (Dean LRC); Zachary Cembellin (Dean STEM); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Catalina Rodriguez (Dean of Student Affairs); Anthony Cervantes (Dean of Enrollment); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Evan Gilstrap (Articulation Officer); Daphne Small (Student Affairs); Mary Vanatta (Curriculum Coordinator); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Kathy Perino (FA); Kathryn Maurer (FHDA Academic Senate President); Erik Woodbury (De Anza AS); Peter Landsberger (President, Board of Trustees); Lee Lambert (FHDA Chancellor); Zara Ainge (Foothill Student Trustee); Doreen Finkelstein (Classified Senate President); Anu Khanna (Interim Vice Chancellor, Organizational Effectiveness and Engagement); Chris Dela Rosa (Vice Chancellor, Business Services); Dianna Rose (Vice Chancellor, Human Resources & Equal Opportunity); Jory Hadsell (Vice Chancellor, Technology);