Student Success and Support Program at Foothill College

Student Success and Support Program (3SP) SB-1456 is mandated legislation that supports and enhances student access to the California Community Colleges and promotes and sustains the efforts of students to be successful in achieving their educational goals. In compliance with SB 1456, the Student Success Act of 2012, Foothill College is planning, evaluating resources, interpreting guidelines and researching options for full implementation of this legislation designed to improve California Community Colleges with assisting students in completing their educational goals.

The goals of 3SP are to ensure that all students complete their college courses, persist to the next academic term and achieve their educational objectives by leveraging strong student support services offered by admissions, orientation, assessment and placement testing, counseling, tutoring and student follow-up.

Eight Areas of Focus
  • Increase college and career readiness
  • Strengthen support for entering students
  • Incentivize successful student behaviors
  • Align course offerings to meet student needs
  • Improve education of basic skills students
  • Revitalize and re-envision professional development
  • Enable efficient statewide leadership and increase coordination among colleges
  • Align resources with student success recommendations
Foothill College is providing the following to support the 3SP
  • Orientation
  • Assessment Testing and Placement
  • Counseling, including instruction (CNSL 5, CRLP 70)
  • Specialized support services (EOPS, DSPS, Veterans, Puente, Pass the Torch, Early Alert Program, and Transfer Center)
3SP Work Team Tri-Chairs

Laureen Balducci, Associate Vice President, Student Services
Carolyn Holcroft, Academic Senate President
Karen Smith, Classified Senate President

Team Members

Roland Amit, Supervisor, Admissions & Records
Isaac Escoto, Counselor
Antoinette Chavez, Program Coordinator, Campus Ambassadors &Adult Learners
Mariel Estrada-Bonilla, Assessment Specialist
Nazy Galoyan, Dean, Enrollment Services
Katie Ha, Instructor, Supplemental Learning
Kevin Harral, Director, Financial Aid
Amanda Kolstad, Program Coordinator- SSSP
April Henderson, EOPS Outreach & Tutoring
Andrew Lamanque, Assistant Vice President, Instruction & Institutional Research
San Lu, Dean, Disability Resource Center & Veterans Services
Denise Swett, Vice President, Student Services
Lan Truong, Dean, Counseling
Casie Wheat, Interim Assessment Center Supervisor

Choi Hou, ASFC Representative
Rebecca Akerstrand, ASFC Representative

  • S.O.A.R. (Student Orientation, Assessment&Registration) Work Team
  • 7 SOAR events (
  • Placement Testing and Multiple Measures Assessment
  • Matriculated new students to qualify for Priority Registration
  • District MIS & Finance Workgroup
  • Enrollment Priority Committee
  • Implementing online orientation program partnering with Innovative Educators
  • Student Equity Plan drafted and submitted to PaRC: Spring 2014
  • Retention Workgroup
  • Retention Workgroup
  • Student Success Collaborative
  • Collaboration with Title IX
Planning and Implementation
  • Fiscal Year 2012-2013: System-level Planning Year
  • Fiscal Year 2013-2014: District/College-level Planning Year
  • Fiscal Year 2014-2015: District/College-Level Implementation Year 1
  • Fiscal Year 2015-2016: Implementation Year 2: Mandated Requirements for first time students
  • Fiscal Year 2016-2017: Implementation Year 3: Allocations

Student Success and Support Program (formerly Matriculation)

Student Success and Support Program Funding Guidelines

CCCCO Student Success Act of 2012 SB 1456

Student Success Data Elements: Collaborating for Accurate Data CCCCO's MIS Sept. 23, 2013

Foothill College Student Success Scorecard

soar logo

Top of page