

Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda Manday February 28, 2022

Monday, February 28, 2022

2:00 – 4:00 p.m. **on Zoom** (https://fhda-

edu.zoom.us/j/99143250979?pwd=TEZIc1NKNGJXVjBIOFFyMHZqT09EZz09)

2021-22 Executive Committee Members: Officers: Kathryn Maurer (President), vacant (Executive Vice President), Eric Kuehnl (Vice President of Curriculum), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Brian Murphy; BSS: Alexis Aguilar, Kerri Ryer; BHS: Sara Cooper, Francis Niccoli; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Voltaire Villanueva; DRC/VRC: Mayra Palmerin-Aguilera; FA/Comm: Milissa Carey, Jordan Fong; KA: Kelly Edwards, Katy Ripp; LA: Stephanie Chan, Patricia Crespo-Martin; LRC: Kimberly Escamilla, Mary Thomas; PSME: Matthew Litrus, David Marasco; PT Reps: Donna Frankel, Ellen Judd; Other Members: ASFC: Fatai Heimuli; Classified: Adrienne Hypolite; FacAssoc: John Fox; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft; Chair of COOL: Kerri Ryer; Dean of Equity: Ajani Byrd; President's Cabinet: Kurt Hueg

2.28.22 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Topic	Action	Objective	Presenter(s)	Supporting
			**			Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Maurer	AS Meeting Norms
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda Approval of 2.14.22 Minutes	В		Maurer	AS Draft Minutes 2022 2 14
4	2:05	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)	I			
5	2:10	Consent Calendar	В	Approve senate appointments		See Consent Calendar below
6	2:15	Senate Elections Update	I, D, A	Senate briefed on status of candidate recruitment, and decides course of action for filling the vacancy for the Exec VP position for the remainder of the 21-22 year	Thomas, Ryer, Litrus	
7	2:25	Shared Governance @ Foothill	I, D, A	Senate briefed on governance conversations and initiatives; opportunity for senators to discuss and make motions for approval or direction	Maurer, Ryer	
8	2:40	AP 4130 Faculty Hiring Procedures and 1st Read of Resolution on Student Participation on Hiring Committees	I, D	Senators contribute proposed language to AP 4130 (section on full-time faculty hiring) in advance of APM discussion and review draft resolution	Maurer, Marasco	AP 4130 Full-Time Faculty Hiring Procedures Draft Resolution on Student Participation on Faculty Hiring Committees
	3:00	Break				
9	3:05	Transforming Institutional Culture through Effective Anti- Racist Practices – Sharing Out	I	Senate hears participant take-aways from 2-day webinar	Holcroft, CCC webinar participants	

#	Time*	Topic	Action **	Objective	Presenter(s)	Supporting Materials***
		from the Feb 1 & 2 CCC Webinar				
10	3:20	Guided Pathways Meta Majors	I, D, A	Senate considers endorsement of the CCC Resolution to adopt Guided Pathways Meta Majors	Kuehnl, Latteri, Leonard	CCC Resolution to Approve the Foothill College Meta Major Groupings and Names
11	3:30	Faculty Engagement and Disengagement – Continued	D	Senate dives deeper into needs and benefits of faculty engagement, and sources and impacts of faculty disengagement; solicit more feedback about what senators (constituents) desire for the future	Maurer/All	Article: "The Great Faculty Disengagement"
Sta	Standing Items					
12	3:55	Announcements (limited to 3 minutes, Senate cannot take action)	В		All	
13	4:00	Close of meeting	В		Maurer	

^{*}Times are approximate

2.28.22 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials*
1	Approve Senate Appointments	Senate Appointment Updates 21-22 2.28.22

UPDATED LIST OF SENATE APPOINTMENTS TO GOVERNANCE

Senate Appointments 21-22 2.24.22

ROLE OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE

Title 5 gives the Academic Senate power and responsibility to make recommendations to the Foothill Administration and the District Board of Trustees on academic and professional matters. The board, while retaining ultimate power, develops policies and procedures concerning academic and professional matters either by primary reliance upon the advice and judgement of the senate or by reaching mutual agreement with the senate.

"The 10+1"

Primary Areas of Reliance

Our district board policy #2223 (6/93) designates the following as primary reliance areas:

- Curriculum and general education
- Program specific degree requirements
- Grading policies
- Standards regarding student preparation and success
- Policies for faculty professional development activities
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

Areas of Joint Development

^{**}Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action (Actions typically require an agenda topic to have had two "reads" by the Executive Committee in order to allow for constituent input.)

^{***}Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to Academic Senate website

The following are designated as joint development areas:

- Units for degrees and certificates
- Educational program development
- Governance structures as related to faculty roles
- Faculty involvement in accreditation
- Policies for program review
- Processes for institutional planning & budget development
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

ACTIVE ACADEMIC SENATE SUBCOMMITTEES, TASK FORCES & STUDY GROUPS

- College Curriculum Committee (CCC) autonomous subcommittee
- Committee on Online Learning (COOL) subcommittee
- TBD

CALENDAR OF 2021-2022 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

- All begin at 2PM and are expected to remain 100% virtual OR hybrid format for winter quarter.
- Special meetings may be called as needed.
- *indicates tentatively scheduled joint meeting with De Anza Academic Senate

Fall 2021 Quarter	Winter 2022 Quarter	Spring 2022 Quarter
9/27/21	1/10/22	4/4/22
10/11/21	1/24/22	4/11/22*
10/18/21-special meeting	2/7/22	4/29/22
10/25/21	2/14/22	5/9/22
11/1/21*	2/28/22	5/23/22
11/8/21	3/17/22	6/6/22
11/22/21	3/14/22	6/13/21 – 2022-23 Planning Retreat
12/6/21	3/21/22	

DISTRIBUTION:

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate; Bernadine Chuck Fong (Acting President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Lauri Scolari (VPSS); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Elias Regalado (AVP Finance & Admin); Ram Subramaniam (Interim AVPI); Vanessa Smith (Marketing); Valerie Fong (Dean LA; Interim Dean FA/Comm); Mike Teijeiro (Interim Dean KA); JP Schumacher (Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Mark Barnes (Dean LRC); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Leticia Maldonado (Student Affairs); Anthony Cervantes (Dean of Enrollment); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Janie Garcia (Classified Senate); Josh Pelletier (Classified Senate); Evan Gilstrap (Articulation Officer); Daphne Small (Student Affairs); Isaac Escoto (GP Coordinator); Natalie Latteri (GP Team Lead); Amy Leonard (GP Team Lead); Chris Chavez (GP Team Lead); Hilda Fernandez (GP Team Lead); Dokesha Meacham (GP Team Lead); Mary Vanatta (Curriculum Coordinator); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Kathy Perino (FA); Karen Erickson (FA); Karen Chow (FHDA Academic Senate President); Cheryl Baum (De Anza AS); Pat Hyland (Director of Equity & HR); Patrick Ahrens (Board of Trustees); Judy Miner (FHDA Chancellor); Rachel Homayonfar (Foothill Student Trustee)