

Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda Monday, January 10, 2022

2:00 – 4:00 p.m. **on Zoom** (https://fhda-

edu.zoom.us/j/99143250979?pwd=TEZIc1NKNGJXVjBIOFFyMHZqT09EZz09)

2021-22 Executive Committee Members: Officers: Kathryn Maurer (President), Paul Starer (Executive Vice President), Eric Kuehnl (Vice President of Curriculum), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Brian Murphy; BSS: Alexis Aguilar, Kerri Ryer; BHS: Sara Cooper, Francis Niccoli; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Voltaire Villanueva; DRC/VRC: Mayra Palmerin-Aguilera; FA/Comm: Milissa Carey, Jordan Fong; KA: Kelly Edwards, Katy Ripp; LA: Stephanie Chan, Patricia Crespo-Martin; LRC: Kimberly Escamilla, Mary Thomas; PSME: Matthew Litrus, David Marasco; PT Reps: Donna Frankel, Ellen Judd; Other Members: ASFC: Fatai Heimuli; Classified: Adrienne Hypolite; FacAssoc: John Fox; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft; Chair of COOL: Kerri Ryer; Dean of Equity: Ajani Byrd; President's Cabinet: Kurt Hueg

1.10.22 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Topic	Action **	Objective	Presenter(s)	Supporting Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Maurer	
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	AS Meeting Norms
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda	В		Maurer	AS Draft Minutes
3	2.05	Approval of 12.6.21 Minutes	Ь		iviaurei	2021 12 6
4	2:05	Public Comment on items not	ı			2021 12 0
		on agenda (Senate cannot				
		discuss or take action)				
5	2:10	Consent Calendar	В	Approve senate		See Consent
				appointments		Calendar below
6	2:10	Reaffirmation of Resolution	Α	Senators approve	Maurer	Resolution
		Authorizing Remote Meetings		reaffirmation of the		<u>Authorizing Remote</u>
		(Under AB361)		resolution to continue to		Meetings under
				meet requirements of the		<u>AB361</u>
				Brown Act (required every		
				30 days)		
7	2:15	Presidents' Welcome to 2022	I, D	Foothill College President	Chuck Fong,	
				Chuck Fong and Academic	Maurer	
				Senate President Maurer		
				welcome senate to the next		
				year and share updates,		
				priorities, goals and take questions & feedback		
	3:00	Break		questions & reedback		
			1.5.4	County manifestory and	N.4	Due fa Decelution on
8	3:05	Resolution on OER and Curriculum Processes – 2nd	I, D, A	Senate reviews and	Maurer,	Draft Resolution on
				considers approval OER	Holcroft, Kuehnl	OER and Curriculum
		Read (from June 2021)		resolution, and contributes	Kuenni	<u>Processes</u>
				input on furthering faculty support for OER adoption		
9	3:20	Academic Senate Treasurer's	I, D, A	Senators briefed on health	Cormia,	AS Treasurers
	0.20	Report & Senate Scholarships	1, 5, 7	of senate finances, and	Marasco	Report Jan 10 22
		for 2022		agree on amount and		AS Scholarships 21-
		1.0		criteria for 2021-22 senate		22 PPT
				scholarships for students		
	1		1		I	1

#	Time*	Topic	Action	Objective	Presenter(s)	Supporting
			**			Materials***
10	3:30	Foothill Planning Calendar	I, D	Senate briefed on the 2	Maurer, Hueg	FH Planning
						Calendar 2017-2024
11	3:40	Proposal for 2021-22 Academic	I, D, A	Senators discuss proposal	Maurer	Proposal for 2021-
		Senate Subcommittees		for new senate		22 Academic Senate
				subcommittees for 21-22		Subcommittees
Standing Items						
12	3:55	Announcements (limited to 3	В		All	
		minutes, Senate cannot take				
		action)				
13	4:00	Close of meeting	В		Maurer	

^{*}Times are approximate

1.10.22 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials*
1	Approve Senate Appointments	Senate Appointment Updates 21-22 1.10.22

UPDATED LIST OF SENATE APPOINTMENTS TO GOVERNANCE

Senate Appointments 21-22 1.6.22

ROLE OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE

Title 5 gives the Academic Senate power and responsibility to make recommendations to the Foothill Administration and the District Board of Trustees on academic and professional matters. The board, while retaining ultimate power, develops policies and procedures concerning academic and professional matters either by primary reliance upon the advice and judgement of the senate or by reaching mutual agreement with the senate.

"The 10+1"

Primary Areas of Reliance

Our district board policy #2223 (6/93) designates the following as primary reliance areas:

- Curriculum and general education
- Program specific degree requirements
- Grading policies
- Standards regarding student preparation and success
- Policies for faculty professional development activities
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

Areas of Joint Development

The following are designated as joint development areas:

- Units for degrees and certificates
- Educational program development
- Governance structures as related to faculty roles
- Faculty involvement in accreditation
- Policies for program review
- Processes for institutional planning & budget development
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

^{**}Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action (Actions typically require an agenda topic to have had two "reads" by the Executive Committee in order to allow for constituent input.)

^{***}Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to Academic Senate website

ACTIVE ACADEMIC SENATE SUBCOMMITTEES, TASK FORCES & STUDY GROUPS

- College Curriculum Committee (CCC) autonomous subcommittee
- Committee on Online Learning (COOL) subcommittee
- TBD

CALENDAR OF 2021-2022 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

- All begin at 2PM and are expected to remain 100% virtual OR hybrid format for winter quarter.
- Special meetings may be called as needed.
- *indicates tentatively scheduled joint meeting with De Anza Academic Senate

Fall 2021 Quarter	Winter 2022 Quarter	Spring 2022 Quarter
9/27/21	1/10/22	4/4/22
10/11/21	1/24/22	4/11/22*
10/18/21-special meeting	2/7/22	4/29/22
10/25/21	2/14/22	5/9/22
11/1/21*	2/28/22	5/23/22
11/8/21	3/14/22	6/6/22
11/22/21		6/13/21 – 2022-23 Planning Retreat
12/6/21		

DISTRIBUTION:

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate; Bernadine Chuck Fong (Acting President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Lauri Scolari (VPSS); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Elias Regalado (AVP Finance & Admin); Vanessa Smith (Marketing); Ram Subramaniam (Dean STEM); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Debbie Lee (Dean FA/Comm/KA); Natasha Mancuso (Dean BSS); JP Schumacher (Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Mark Barnes (Dean LRC); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Leticia Maldonado (Student Affairs); Anthony Cervantes (Dean of Enrollment); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Janie Garcia (Classified Senate); Josh Pelletier (Classified Senate); Evan Gilstrap (Articulation Officer); Daphne Small (Student Affairs); Isaac Escoto (GP Coordinator); Natalie Latteri (GP Team Lead); Amy Leonard (GP Team Lead); Chris Chavez (GP Team Lead); Hilda Fernandez (GP Team Lead); Dokesha Meacham (GP Team Lead); Mary Vanatta (Curriculum Coordinator); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Kathy Perino (FA); Karen Erickson (FA); Karen Chow (FHDA Academic Senate President); Cheryl Baum (De Anza AS); Pat Hyland (Director of Equity & HR); Patrick Ahrens (Board of Trustees); Judy Miner (FHDA Chancellor); Rachel Homayonfar (Foothill Student Trustee)