

Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda

Monday, November 22, 2021

2:00 – 4:00 p.m. being held in Hybrid Format! Options for participation:

In person: Room 4006 (KCI Building of the Foothill Campus)

Or on Zoom (https://fhda-edu.zoom.us/j/99143250979?pwd=TEZIc1NKNGJXVjBIOFFyMHZqT09EZz09)

2021-22 Executive Committee Members: Officers: Kathryn Maurer (President), Paul Starer (Executive Vice President), Eric Kuehnl (Vice President of Curriculum), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Brian Murphy; BSS: Alexis Aguilar, Kerri Ryer; BHS: Sara Cooper, Francis Niccoli; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Voltaire Villanueva; DRC/VRC: Mayra Palmerin-Aguilera; FA/Comm: Milissa Carey, Jordan Fong; KA: Jeff Bissell, Katy Ripp; LA: Stephanie Chan, Patricia Crespo-Martin; LRC: Kimberly Escamilla, Mary Thomas; PSME: Matthew Litrus, David Marasco; PT Reps: Donna Frankel, Ellen Judd; Other Members: ASFC: Fatai Heimuli; Classified: Adrienne Hypolite; FacAssoc: John Fox; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft; Chair of COOL: Kerri Ryer; Dean of Equity: Ajani Byrd; President's Cabinet: Kurt Hueg

11.22.21 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Topic	Action	Objective	Presenter(s)	Supporting
			**			Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Maurer	AS Meeting Norms
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda Approval of 11.8.21 Minutes	В		Maurer	AS Draft Minutes 2021_11_8
4	2:05	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)	I			
5	2:10	Consent Calendar	В	Approve senate appointments		See Consent Calendar below
6	2:10	ASCCC Hayward Award Nominations	A	Senate reviews nominations for Hayward Award and considers approval for application submission	All	ASCCC 2022 Hayward Award Herman Nomination
7	2:20	Faculty Prioritization Committee Update	I	Senators briefed on status of the 2021-22 Faculty Prioritization Request Process and Status	Maurer, Starer, Villanueva	Faculty Prioritization Interim Process List of Requests & Division Rankings
8	2:30	Supporting Trans Students	I, D	Senate listens to concerns and recommendations being brought forward from students, Student Affairs Division, and PD Coordinator	Riordan, Maldonado, Heimuli, Holcroft, Der Bing	
	2:55	Break				
9	3:00	Return to Campus Updates & Guiding Principles for Winter 2021 & Spring 2022	I, D	Senators learn of admin plans (college & district) related to return to campus/emerging from the pandemic, and discuss proposal of guiding principles for Spring 2022 scheduling	Maurer, Hueg	Draft Guiding Principles for Scheduling Spring 2021

#	Time*	Topic	Action **	Objective	Presenter(s)	Supporting Materials***
10	3:20	Draft Resolution on Ensuring Inclusivity of Academic Senate Meetings & Events Post COVID – 1st Read	I, D	Senate considers draft resolution	Maurer, Starer, Cormia, Ryer, Meezan	Draft Resolution on Ensuring Inclusive Academic Senate Meetings and Events Post-COVID
11	3:30	AP 4225 Course Repetition	I, D	Senators informed of new language in Title 5 that requires us to update AP 4225 in preparation for discussion at a future meeting	Maurer	AP 4225 Course Repetition Rev
12	3:35	Faculty Hiring Procedures	I, D, A	Senators continue discussion started at the joint Foothill-De Anza Academic Senate Meeting, and consider proposed amendments and/or approval	Maurer, Marasco	Draft AP4130 Hiring Procedures Faculty Section
Standing Items						
13	3:55	Announcements (limited to 3 minutes, Senate cannot take action)	В		All	
14	4:00	Close of meeting	В		Maurer	

^{*}Times are approximate

11.22.21 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials*
1	Approve Senate Appointments	Senate Appointment Updates 21-22 11.22.21

UPDATED LIST OF SENATE APPOINTMENTS TO GOVERNANCE

Senate Appointments 22-22 11.17.21

ROLE OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE

Title 5 gives the Academic Senate power and responsibility to make recommendations to the Foothill Administration and the District Board of Trustees on academic and professional matters. The board, while retaining ultimate power, develops policies and procedures concerning academic and professional matters either by primary reliance upon the advice and judgement of the senate or by reaching mutual agreement with the senate.

"The 10+1"

Primary Areas of Reliance

Our district board policy #2223 (6/93) designates the following as primary reliance areas:

- Curriculum and general education
- Program specific degree requirements
- Grading policies
- Standards regarding student preparation and success
- Policies for faculty professional development activities

^{**}Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action (Actions typically require an agenda topic to have had two "reads" by the Executive Committee in order to allow for constituent input.)

^{***}Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to Academic Senate website

• Other Academic and Professional Issues

Areas of Joint Development

The following are designated as joint development areas:

- Units for degrees and certificates
- Educational program development
- Governance structures as related to faculty roles
- Faculty involvement in accreditation
- Policies for program review
- Processes for institutional planning & budget development
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

ACTIVE ACADEMIC SENATE SUBCOMMITTEES, TASK FORCES & STUDY GROUPS

- College Curriculum Committee (CCC) autonomous subcommittee
- Committee on Online Learning (COOL) subcommittee
- TBD

CALENDAR OF 2021-2022 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

- All begin at 2PM and are expected to remain 100% virtual for fall quarter.
- Special meetings may be called as needed.
- *indicates tentatively scheduled joint meeting with De Anza Academic Senate

Fall 2021 Quarter	Winter 2022 Quarter	Spring 2022 Quarter
9/27/21	1/10/22	4/4/22
10/11/21	1/24/22	4/11/22*
10/18/21-special meeting	2/7/22	4/29/22
10/25/21	2/14/22	5/9/22
11/1/21*	2/28/22	5/23/22
11/8/21	3/14/22	6/6/22
11/22/21		6/13/21 – 2022-23 Planning Retreat
12/6/21		

DISTRIBUTION:

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate; Bernadine Chuck Fong (Acting President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Lauri Scolari (VPSS); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Elias Regalado (AVP Finance & Admin); Vanessa Smith (Marketing); Ram Subramaniam (Dean STEM); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Debbie Lee (Dean FA/Comm/KA); Natasha Mancuso (Dean BSS); JP Schumacher (Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Mark Barnes (Dean LRC); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Leticia Maldonado (Student Affairs); Anthony Cervantes (Dean of Enrollment); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Janie Garcia (Classified Senate); Josh Pelletier (Classified Senate); Evan Gilstrap (Articulation Officer); Daphne Small (Student Affairs); Isaac Escoto (GP Coordinator); Natalie Latteri (GP Team Lead); Amy Leonard (GP Team Lead); Chris Chavez (GP Team Lead); Hilda Fernandez (GP Team Lead); Dokesha Meacham (GP Team Lead); Mary Vanatta (Curriculum Coordinator); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Kathy Perino (FA); Karen Erickson (FA); Karen Chow (FHDA Academic Senate President); Cheryl Baum (De Anza AS); Pat Hyland (Director of Equity & HR); Patrick Ahrens (Board of Trustees); Judy Miner (FHDA Chancellor); Rachel Homayonfar (Foothill Student Trustee)