

Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda Monday October 18, 2021 2:00 – 4:00 p.m. on Zoom (https://fhdaedu.zoom.us/j/99143250979?pwd=TEZIc1NKNGJXVjBIOFFyMHZqT09EZz09)

2021-22 Executive Committee Members: Officers: Kathryn Maurer (President), Paul Starer (Executive Vice President), Eric Kuehnl (Vice President of Curriculum), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Brian Murphy; BSS: Alexis Aguilar, Kerri Ryer; BHS: Sara Cooper, Francis Niccoli; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Voltaire Villanueva; DRC/VRC: Mayra Palmerin-Aguilera; FA/Comm: Milissa Carey, Jordan Fong; KA: Jeff Bissell, Katy Ripp; LA: Stephanie Chan, Patricia Crespo-Martin; LRC: Mary Thomas; PSME: Matthew Litrus, David Marasco; PT Reps: Donna Frankel, Ellen Judd; Other Members: ASFC: Fatai Heimuli; Classified: Adrienne Hypolite; FacAssoc: John Fox; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft; Chair of COOL: Kerri Ryer; Dean of Equity: Ajani Byrd; President's Cabinet: Kurt Hueg

10.18.21 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Торіс	Action**	Objective	Presenter(s)	Supporting Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Maurer	
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda Approval of 10.11.21 Minutes	В		Maurer	AS Draft Minutes 2021 10 11
4	2:10	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)				
5	2:15	Discussion and Possible Action: Resolution of No Confidence in President Nguyen – 1 st read	D, A	Senators discuss and consider approval of Resolution of No Confidence in President Nguyen being brought forward by faculty presenters	B. Armerding; K. Armstrong; S. Batham; C. Brown; F. Cammin; R. Campbell; M. Carey; Z. Cembellin; S. Chan; R. Cormia; R. Daley; A. Edwards; K. Escamilla; L. Drake; L. Eshman; H. Fernandez; J. Fong; J. Fox; C. Freeman; L. Gamez; P. Gibbs; R. Hartwell; S. Huerta; F. Jinnah; E. Kuehnl; A. La Piana; K. Lane; L. Larson; L. Lew; E. Lin; D. Macias; D. Marasco; K. Maurer; A. Meezan; R. Nguyen; R. Painter; J. Patyk; L. Serna; S. St Onge-Cole; P. Starer; K. Svetich; K. Thorton; L. Velasco; V. Villanueva; W. Voyce; J. Wang-Nava; S. White; B. Ziegenhorn	Draft Resolution of No Confidence in the President of Foothill College

#	Time*	Торіс	Action**	Objective	Presenter(s)	Supporting Materials***
6	3:15	Next Steps in Resolving Faculty Concerns & Academic Senate- Administration Conflict	D, A	Senate debriefs current situation and considers possible additional actions	Maurer/All	
7	3:55	Announcements (limited to 3 minutes, Senate cannot take action)	I		All	
8	4:00	Close of meeting	В		Maurer	

*Times are approximate

Action Legend: **B=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action (Actions typically require an agenda topic to have had two "reads" by the Executive Committee in order to allow for constituent input.)

***Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to Academic Senate website

UPDATED LIST OF SENATE APPOINTMENTS TO GOVERNANCE

Senate Appointments 22-22 10.15.21

ROLE OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE

Title 5 gives the Academic Senate power and responsibility to make recommendations to the Foothill Administration and the District Board of Trustees on academic and professional matters. The board, while retaining ultimate power, develops policies and procedures concerning academic and professional matters either by primary reliance upon the advice and judgement of the senate or by reaching mutual agreement with the senate.

"The 10+1"

Primary Areas of Reliance

Our district board policy #2223 (6/93) designates the following as primary reliance areas:

- Curriculum and general education
- Program specific degree requirements
- Grading policies
- Standards regarding student preparation and success
- Policies for faculty professional development activities
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

Areas of Joint Development

The following are designated as joint development areas:

- Units for degrees and certificates
- Educational program development
- Governance structures as related to faculty roles
- Faculty involvement in accreditation
- Policies for program review
- Processes for institutional planning & budget development
- Other Academic and Professional Issues

ACTIVE ACADEMIC SENATE SUBCOMMITTEES, TASK FORCES & STUDY GROUPS

- College Curriculum Committee (CCC) autonomous subcommittee
- Committee on Online Learning (COOL) subcommittee
- TBD

CALENDAR OF 2021-2022 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

- All begin at 2PM and are expected to *remain 100% virtual for fall quarter*.
- Special meetings may be called as needed.
- *indicates tentatively scheduled joint meeting with De Anza Academic Senate

Fall 2021 Quarter	Winter 2022 Quarter	Spring 2022 Quarter			
9/27/21	1/10/22	4/4/22			
10/11/21	1/24/22	4/11/22*			
10/18/21-special meeting	2/7/22	4/29/22			
10/25/21	2/14/22	5/9/22			
11/1/21*	2/28/22	5/23/22			
11/8/21	3/14/22	6/6/22			
11/22/21		6/13/21 – 2022-23 Planning Retreat			
12/6/21					

DISTRIBUTION:

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate; Thuy Nguyen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Lauri Scolari (AVPSS); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Elias Regalado (AVP Finance & Admin); Vanessa Smith (Marketing); Ram Subramaniam (Dean STEM); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Debbie Lee (Dean FA/Comm/KA); Natasha Mancuso (Dean BSS); JP Schumacher (Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Mark Barnes (Dean LRC); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Leticia Maldonado (Student Affairs); Anthony Cervantes (Dean of Enrollment); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Janie Garcia (Classified Senate); Josh Pelletier (Classified Senate); Evan Gilstrap (Articulation Officer); Daphne Small (Student Affairs); Isaac Escoto (GP Coordinator); Natalie Latteri (GP Team Lead); Amy Leonard (GP Team Lead); Chris Chavez (GP Team Lead); Hilda Fernandez (GP Team Lead); Dokesha Meacham (GP Team Lead); Mary Vanatta (Curriculum Coordinator); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Kathy Perino (FA); Karen Erickson (FA); Karen Chow (FHDA Academic Senate President); Cheryl Baum (De Anza AS); Pat Hyland (Director of Equity & HR); Patrick Ahrens (Board of Trustees); Judy Miner (FHDA Chancellor); Rachel Homayonfar (Foothill Student Trustee); Laura Gamez (Senate mediation team); Rosa Nguyen (Senate mediation team)