Academic Senate Meeting Minutes - December 2, 2024

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by President Voltaire Villanueva at 2:03 p.m. in the Krause Center for Innovation (4006) and via Zoom.

Roll Call

Secretary Robert Cormia conducted the roll call. Attendance was noted, and a quorum was confirmed.

Adoption of Agenda

Ben Kaupp motioned to adopt the agenda, seconded by Patrick Morriss. The motion was approved by consensus.

Public Comments

Ben Kaupp announced that the Ceramics Department would hold a campus sale the following day, inviting faculty and staff to support the event.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes from the November 4 and November 18, 2024, meetings were presented for approval. Sara Cooper motioned to approve the minutes, seconded by Patrick Morriss. The motion carried by consensus.

Consent Calendar

Additions to the consent calendar included:

- Sally Baldwin joining the OER workgroup.
- Julie Jenkins being added to the tenure due process pool.
- An opening for a faculty representative on the PIO hiring committee, a district-level position.
- Kerri Ryer being added as a program review reader for BSS.

Evan Gilstrap made a brief comment regarding program review templates. Ben Kaupp motioned to approve the consent calendar, seconded by Allison Meezan. The motion passed unanimously.

Regular Business

ASFC President Updates

ASFC President Paulo Verzosa was absent; no updates were presented.

Promoting the Mental Health of Students of Color

Pauline Brown and Alexis Denato gave a presentation on promoting mental health among students of color, emphasizing the growing need for targeted support. They highlighted an upcoming event scheduled for January 27, 2025, from 9:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m., aimed at fostering inclusive and equitable classroom practices.

Development of Comprehensive Guidelines on AI Integrity

Allison Meezan presented updates from the Teaching with Technology Committee regarding AI guidelines. She emphasized the importance of having a student-facing document available through counseling services to inform students about the ethical use of AI tools. Several faculty members contributed to the discussion:

- **Ulysses Acevedo** shared concerns from a division colleague regarding biases embedded in AI tools.
- Hilda Fernandez stressed the importance of validating information generated by AI
 tools, advocating for Foothill College to consider ethics and environmental impact
 in its policies.
- Patrick Morriss highlighted the added responsibility for faculty to critically engage with AI tools and emphasized the need for ethical consciousness in teaching practices.

Ben Kaupp urged the Senate to avoid approaching AI policies from a deficit mindset, instead focusing on how AI could enhance student outcomes. Voltaire Villanueva summarized that the AI guidelines should address three key stakeholders: students, faculty, and administrators. Discussions concluded with a motion to adopt the AI integrity statement as written, deferring broader ethical discussions to mid-February 2025. The motion passed unanimously, with Robert Cormia abstaining.

Program Viability, Revitalization, and Discontinuance (PVRD)

Brenda Hanning provided feedback from HSH regarding the pace of program discontinuation. Sara Cooper recommended that revitalization and discontinuation processes be treated as separate policies. Voltaire Villanueva posed questions about the role of program review in shaping PVRD discussions.

Credit for Prior Learning (CPL)

President Villanueva introduced a discussion on Credit for Prior Learning (CPL), outlining its potential to award college credit for skills and knowledge gained outside the classroom. He detailed examples such as military training and industry certifications.

Nate Vennarucci expanded on the topic, discussing apprenticeship programs and non-union experience. He noted the importance of validating skills through testing and interviews, adding that students take pride in college-certified training.

Other points included:

- Hilary Gomes highlighted the role of Advanced Placement (AP) exams and selfcompiled portfolios in earning CPL credits.
- Patrick Morriss emphasized the equity implications of CPL, particularly for students from non-traditional educational backgrounds.

Sara Cooper inquired about statewide efforts to align CPL policies with UC and CSU systems. Ben Kaupp provided insights from a recent CPL meeting, noting variability in acceptance across campuses. Voltaire concluded by mentioning upcoming workshops to explore CPL implementation.

Academic Senate Scholarships

Secretary/Treasurer Robert Cormia introduced Robin Latta from the FHDA Foundation, who provided an update on the Hope Initiative's impact on student success, including support for the Foothill Food Pantry and Owl's Nest. David Marasco highlighted ongoing efforts to secure funding for global experiential learning programs.

Sara Cooper motioned to allocate \$4,000 to the Hope Initiative, \$1,000 for the part-time faculty appreciation dinner, and \$4,500 for scholarships. The motion was seconded and approved by consensus.

Standing Items

Officer and Committee Reports

- Police Chief Workgroup: David Marasco shared updates on campus safety infrastructure, including locks and door upgrades, and mentioned upcoming discussions on taser policies.
- **Curriculum Committee**: Ben Kaupp reported progress on general education curriculum updates.
- **Teaching with Technology**: Allison Meezan reiterated key points from the AI integrity discussions.

Announcements

Destiny Rivera announced several upcoming workshops, including an AI-focused event in San Diego in February, an OER workshop, and a computer science seminar. David Marasco reminded attendees about the Ohlone Tribe Flag Raising ceremony scheduled for the following day.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 3:56 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for early January 2025.

Role	Name	Attendance
Dean of Equity	Ajani Byrd	Zoom
Faculty Chair of Teaching with		
Technology	Allison Meezan	4006
DRC/VRC	Ana Maravilla	4006
Vice President of Curriculum	Ben Kaupp	4006
Professional Development		
Coordinator	Carolyn Holcroft	4006
LRC	Destiny Rivera	4006
KIN	Don Mac Neil	Zoom
Classified Senate Rep	Doreen Finkelstein	4006
FAC	Eric Kuehnl	4006
LRC	Eric Reed	4006
Counseling	Fatima Jinnah	absent
FAC	Hilary Gomes	Zoom
LA	Hilda Fernandez	Zoom
FA Rep	Jordana Griffiths	4006
BSS	Julie Jenkins	4006
KIN	Katy Ripp	absent
HSH	Lydia Daniel	Zoom
24-26 Part Time Faculty Rep	Lynette Vega	Zoom
23-25 Part Time Faculty Rep	Michael Chang	Zoom
BSS	Mona Rawal	4006
Apprenticeship	Nate Vennarucci	4006
Executive Vice President	Patrick Morriss	4006
ASFC Rep	Paulo Verzosa	absent
STEM	Rachel Mudge	absent
Secretary/Treasurer	Robert Cormia	4006

STEM	Sara Cooper	4006
President's Cabinet	Stacy Gleixner	4006
Counseling	Tracee Cunningham	4006
LA	Ulysses Acevedo	4006
President	Voltaire Villanueva	4006

