

Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda

Monday, November 18, 2024

2:00 – 3:55 p.m. in the Krause Center for Innovation (4006) and Zoom

Meeting ID: 898 0068 0414 Passcode: 235970

Dial by your location: (669) 900-6833 or (408) 638-0968

2024-25 Executive Committee Members (33): Officers: Voltaire Villanueva (President), Patrick Morriss (Executive Vice President), Ben Kaupp (Vice President of Curriculum), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Stephan Schnell, Nate Vennarucci; BSS: Mona Rawal, Julie Jenkins; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Fatima Jinnah; DRC/VRC: Ana Maravilla; FA/Comm: Hilary Gomes, Eric Kuehnl; HSH: Lydia Daniel, Brenda Hanning; KA: Don Mac Neil, Katy Ripp; LA: Ulysses Acevedo, Hilda Fernandez; LRC: Destiny Rivera, Eric Reed; STEM: Sara Cooper; Rachel Mudge; PT Reps: Michael Chang, Lynette Vega; Other Members: ASFC: Paulo Verzosa; Classified: Doreen Finkelstein; FacAssoc: Jordana Griffiths; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft; Chair of Teaching with Technology: Allison Lenkeit Meezan; Student Learning Outcomes Coordinator: vacant; Faculty serving other roles: Evan Gilstrap Dean of Equity: Ajani Byrd; President's Cabinet: Stacy Gleixner;

11.18.24 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Topic	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Villanueva	
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda	В		Villanueva	
4	2:10	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)****	_			
5	2:15	Approval of 11.04.24 Minutes	В		Villanueva	• November 4, 2024
6	2:20	Approval of Consent Calendar	В		Villanueva	See Consent Calendar
7	2:25	ASFC President Updates to the Academic Senate	_	ASFC President to share current student issues	Verzosa	
8	2:30	Student Academic Support and Resources Review	I, D	Identify ways to strengthen student support and resources during challenging times.	Villanueva	
9	2:40	Reimagining Student Learning Outcomes Assessment	I, D, A	Discuss and develop a strategy for Student Learning Outcomes assessment that enhances educational effectiveness, ensures accreditation compliance, and aligns with our institution's mission and vision.	Kaupp	• SLO Evaluation Process Framework Presentation
	2:55	Break				
10	3:00	Development of Comprehensive Campus-Wide AI Guidelines and Framework	I, D	Report out from Teaching with Technology subcommittee discussion; provide draft AI classroom use guidelines for senators to take to constituents for feedback.	Meezan	Student Affairs Academic Integrity Al Use
11	3:15	Program Viability, Revitalization, and Discontinuance (PVRD) Procedure and Process	I, D	To review and understand the PVRD procedure and process, including criteria for evaluating program viability, steps for revitalization, and guidelines for	Villanueva	Draft of Program Viability, Revitalization, and Discontinuance

				the discontinuance of programs.		(PVRD) Procedure and Process Program Discontinuance: A Faculty Perspective Revisited
12	3:25	Academic Senate Scholarship Fund	I, D	Determine a plan for distributing scholarships funded by Academic Senate Dues.	Cormia	
12	3:35	Credit for Prior Learning	I, D	Review California Community Colleges' Credit for Prior Learning initiative, which aims to help working adults accelerate their path to completion by awarding college credit for validated college- level skills and knowledge gained outside the classroom.	Villanueva	• <u>CPL Toolkit</u>

Standing Items					
13	3:45	Officer & Committee Reports	I	All	
14	3:50	Announcements and for the good of the order (the Senate cannot take action)	В	All	
15	3:55	Close of meeting	В	Villanueva	

^{*}Times are approximate

11.18.24 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials
1	Approve Senate Appointments	11.18.24 Consent Calendar

Remote Attendance Locations:

 12345 El Monte Road, Los Altos Hills, CA, 94022 Room 5203

CALENDAR OF 2024-2025 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

Fall 2024 Quarter	Winter 2025 Quarter	Spring 2025 Quarter
September 30	January 13	April 7
October 14	January 27	April 21
October 28	February 10	May 5
November 4	February 24	May 19
November 18	March 10	June 2
December 2	March 17	June 16 (retreat)

^{**}Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action

^{***}Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to the Academic Senate website

^{****}At this time, the public may address the Academic Senate on any matter within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Academic Senate that is not on the agenda. Each person who addresses the Senate must first be recognized by the Academic Senate President or designee. Comments should be addressed to the Senate as a whole and not to individual members. Members of the Senate are not obligated to comment on, or respond to, or address comments by the public.

DISTRIBUTION:

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate; Kristina Whalen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Laurie Scolari (VPSS); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Stacy Gleixner (VPI); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); vacant (Marketing); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Ron Herman (Dean FA/Comm); Aaron Korngiebel (Dean BSS); Mike Teijeiro (Dean KA); Stephanie Crosby (Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Mark Barnes (Dean LRC); Zachary Cembellin (Dean STEM); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Catalina Rodriguez (Dean of Student Affairs); Anthony Cervantes (Dean of Enrollment); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Evan Gilstrap (Articulation Officer); Daphne Small (Student Affairs); Mary Vanatta (Curriculum Coordinator); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Kathy Perino (FA); Kathryn Maurer (FHDA Academic Senate President); Erik Woodbury (De Anza AS); Peter Landsberger (President, Board of Trustees); Lee Lambert (FHDA Chancellor); Zara Ainge (Foothill Student Trustee); Doreen Finkelstein (Classified Senate President); Anu Khanna (Interim Vice Chancellor, Organizational Effectiveness and Engagement); Chris Dela Rosa (Vice Chancellor, Business Services); Dianna Rose (Vice Chancellor, Human Resources & Equal Opportunity); Jory Hadsell (Vice Chancellor, Technology);