Foothill College Theatre Arts Department presents,
The Assembly-Women

By Aristophanes
Translated by Stephen Halliwell
Directed by Tom Gough
Scenic Design by Gordon Thurber
Costume Design by Carol Clever
Lighting Design by Ian Milton
Proeprties Design by Lori Ann Grass
Composition by George Psarras
Stage Management by David Chambers

The Story

From the author who gave the world Lysistrada comes The Assembly-Women. The women of Athens, led by a concerned female citizen Praxagora, are fed up with all the biased, unfair and frankly stupid laws that suppress pleasant life and perpetuate war created by the all-male citizen assembly. Disguised as their husbands, the women of Athens infiltrate the assembly proceedings and surreptitiously repeal many of the irrational and unfair laws while initiating a collection of new laws with a design towards a more level, rational society-laws governing everything from distribution of wealth to sexual allowances. Aristophanes' knack for satirical ribaldry is screamingly abundant in this forgotten gem from the original master of sophomoric humor.

AUDIENCE NOTE: This show contains satire, raunchy language, not-so-subtle sexual innuendo and potty humor.

Performances Dates:

May 23 through June 8, 2014. Shows Times:
Thursdays at 7:30
Fridays and Saturdays at 8:00pm
Sundays, June 1 and June 8 at 2:00pm


Lohman Theatre, at the bottom of the hill - No Stairs!
Foothill College 12345 El Monte Road, Los Altos Hills, CA 94022
Parking Lot 8 provides direct and easy access to the theatre. Visitors must purchase the required parking permit for $3. Foothill College is located off I-280 on El Monte Road in Los Altos Hills.
For easy directions:

Ticket Prices:

$18 General Admission
$14 for Seniors, Students and all District and De Anza employees
$10 for Owl Card holders and Foothill staff (discount only available through in-person purchase)


Purchase required permit for $3. Visitors must purchase the required parking permit for $3. Advanced parking tickets also available through the box office, click the Buy Tickets Online link.


Suzie Poulson as Praxagora
Nicolae Muntean as Blepyros
Kevin Scofield as Chremes

With: Lauren Ackerly, Georgina Anaya, Dominic Dee, Diana Dinéts, Steven Ho, Kimberly Johnson, David Kirk, Preeti Mann, Megan McNulty, Jessica Munoz-Dorr, Angel Ordaz, Brittany Pisoni, Putrina Rafie, Nikita Sethi, Caitlyn Slavich, Holly Smolik, Kazmeira Tarshis, Victoria Weber, Sarah Weiler, Marley Westley and Charnneé Young.

top of page