Smithwick Patio

Fine Arts & Communication

Student Awards & Recognition 2023

Congratulations, Students

An Annual Tradition

For more than thirty years, with generous support from Bruce Swenson, former president of the FHDA Board of Trustees, the Fine Arts and Communication Awards have brought together students, faculty, staff, and administrators from the division’s programs to celebrate our shared creativity, courage, and commitment as a learning community.

Instead of being based solely on grades or tests, these awards celebrate the words, wisdom, and actions of students — all of whom have overcome enormous obstacles to achieve success in college and have reached out to assist and inspire others to succeed and thrive as well. The students recognized on this page received this award because their professors carefully selected them for praise and acknowledgment. 


Introducing Our 2023 Student Awards

Welcome to the Fine Arts & Communication Division Award Ceremony June 10, 2022

It is the privilege of the Fine Arts & Communication Division to honor the following students listed below.

We invite you to view our slide presentation from our June 16, 2023 ceremony recognizing these students.  Each student receiving an award should feel tremendously proud. The department faculty members are truly inspired by each and every one of the students selected.

Download and view the 2023 awards slide presentation.

View and download photos from the awards ceremony.

Student Recognition by Department



  • Austin Allen
  • Nika Goroshko
  • Lander Parish

Art History

  • Astrid Chevallier
  • Leo Shaw
  • Lauren Tran

Communication Studies

  • Amyyah Acosta
  • Keishawn Ford
  • Jozza Millano

Graphic & Interactive Design

  • Olena Kovtash
  • Rachel Pearse
  • Yuryana Rosas-Gervacio

Media Studies

  • Lucas Corral
  • Jasmine Rogers
  • Xinyu Shu


  • Orun Altintas
  • Shun Fang Hsiao
  • Alvin Maningding

Music Technology

  • Ryan Bowen
  • William King
  • Isabelle Law


  • Jessica Alper
  • Antoinette Brown
  • Dana Redick
  • Jillian Thoman, Winner of the John Thacker Scholarship

Theatre Arts

  • Maria Alvarez
  • Laura Merrill
  • Mateo Urquidez

Fine Arts & Communication Special  Division Awards and Scholarships

Thanks to the generosity of donors who are committed to honoring our students, we are proud to announce recipients of the following special scholarships.

Scholarship Criteria: Recipients were nominated by the faculty in the division and selected by a committee of division representatives.

Special Division Awards


to our two recipients of this year’s
Special Division Awards

female and two males standing side by side

nominated by

a woman and two men standing side by side

nominated by

Annette Pearlstein Scholarship Award ($500)


to our two recipients of this year’s
Annette Pearlstein Award

two men and a woman standing side by side

nominated by

two women and two men standing side by side

nominated by

About the Scholarship

This award is for a current student who has shown promise in any area of Fine Arts in honor of Annette Pearlstein, a lover of all things cultural in life.

John Thacker Scholarship Award ($500)


to our recipient of this year’s
John Thacker Award


nominated by

(not pictured)


About the Scholarship

In memory of John Thacker, a Foothill student, this award is for a current student who has taken at least one photography class in the present academic year, demonstrates a genuine love for photography and has developed his/her own expressive style. 
John Thacker graduated with an Electrical Engineering degree from Cornell University and received a PhD in Applied Mathematics from Brown University. A lifelong learner, John came to Foothill and received an Associate degree in Digital Imaging in 2011. He had a passion for photography and loved hiking and going to national parks where he captured many amazing photos. John passed in late 2018 and will be remembered for his calm wisdom, sense of humor and commitment to family as well as his contributions to the Foothill College Photography Community.

Past Award Celebrations




Building 1700 Entrance

We're Here to Help!

Sheherazade Arasnia, Fine Arts & Communication Division