subpage flowers image

Language Arts

Student Recognition Awards 2022

Congratulations Students

A Language Arts Division Tradition

For more than thirty years, with generous support from Bruce Swenson, former president of the FHDA Board of Trustees, the Language Arts Awards have brought students, faculty, staff and administrators from Foothill's English, Foreign Language, and ESL departments together to celebrate our shared creativity, courage, and commitment as a learning community. This year, we are pleased to add students and faculty from the college's new Ethnic Studies program.

Celebrating Student Words, Wisdom & Action

Group of students

Instead of being based solely on grades or tests, these awards celebrate the words, wisdom, and actions of students for each quarter — all of whom have overcome enormous obstacles to achieve success in college. In addition, these same students have reached out to assist and inspire others to succeed and thrive as well.

Those who receive an award can feel proud that their professor carefully selected them for praise and acknowledgment from among many dozens or even hundreds of students. And they should know that the extra effort and care and love they poured into their classes is an inspiration to all of us. 

Our Celebration is Twofold

All faculty may select students in their classes to honor with a Language Arts Recognition Award. In addition, faculty may nominate students for our four Language Arts Division Scholarships, with this year's scholarship recipients highlighted below from the nominating faculty.

It is the privilege of the Language Arts division to honor the following students for our Language Arts Recognition Awards and our Special Scholarships. Please watch our video from this year's event and visit both sections below to view those students receiving awards this year!

Language Arts Recognition Awards 2022

Congratulations to all our students recognized for their contributions at our division ceremony on June 17, 2022. Please watch the video below for the faculty nominations!


Student Recognition by Department


Elizabeth Ericksen Stephanie Chan ENGL 1B
Claire Miller Stephanie Chan ENGL 11
Isabel Schweitzer Stephanie Chan ENGL 11
Noelia Guzman Prado Hilda Fernandez  
Pedro Ruiz Hilda Fernandez  
Giovanni Talledos Sanchez Hilda Fernandez  
Ruth Kasahun Jordana Griffiths  
Leo Ochoa Jordana Griffiths  
Ethan O'Reilly Jordana Griffiths  
Calvin Davis Allison Herman ENGL 1A
Baylie Jett Mills Allison Herman ENGL 45B
Alicia Li Ying Yap Allison Herman ENGL 1B
Jayme Albritton Scott Lankford ENGL5 
Tyrell Baker Scott Lankford ENGL1B
Lia  Fernandez-Grinshpun Brian Lewis ENGL 1C
Sebastian Frakes Brian Lewis  
Austin Perry Brian Lewis ENGL 1B 
Samantha Camberos Jim McDonald  
Peter O'Driscoll Jim McDonald  
Avalon Ver Valen Jim McDonald  
Anna Jensen Natalia Menendez ENGL 1T
Zachary King Natalia Menendez ENGL 1B 
Marily Trejo Camargo Natalia Menendez ENGL 1S
Rishi Bhatt Richard Mills ENGL 1A
Jackeline Ramirez Lopez Richard Mills ENGL 1A  & 1B 
Jillian Marie  Baile Isabel Sperry ENGL 1A
Jorge Luna-Ramos Isabel Sperry ENGL 1A
Nichole Teopaco Isabel Sperry ENGL 1A
Mica Horton Kella Svetich ENGL 1B 
Louise Nguyen Kella Svetich ENGL 1B
Victor Ramirez Kella Svetich ENGL 1B
Marie Vuong Kella Svetich ENGL 1B

English for Second Language Learners

Monica Jauregui David McCormick ESLL 226
Hongli Yang David McCormick ESLL 125
Wenting Ying David McCormick ESLL 227
Erika Galvez Amy Sarver  
Sharon (Yu Ting) Huang Amy Sarver  

Ethnic Studies

Valeria Carreon Ulysses Acevedo ETHN 51
Ariana Estrella Ulysses Acevedo ETHN 51
Pedro Ruiz Ulysses Acevedo ETHN 53

Foreign Languages

Daniel García Patricia Crespo-Martin SPAN  3
Isabelle Hong Patricia Crespo-Martin SPAN 2
Terrie Winnett Patricia Crespo-Martin  
Mateo McCullough Ikuko Rakow JAPN 3
Teena Merlan Ikuko Rakow JAPN 3
Jonah Noralahi Ikuko Rakow JAPN 3
Kristen Edwards Julio Rivera-Montanez SPAN 13A
Andrew McAfee Julio Rivera-Montanez SPAN 1
Reiman Reyes Julio Rivera-Montanez SPAN

Language Arts Special Scholarships

Thanks to the generosity of donors who are committed to honoring our students, we are proud to announce recipients of the following special scholarships.

Scholarship Criteria: Recipients were nominated by the faculty in the division and selected by a committee of division representatives.

Nancy G. Schrier Creative Writing Award ($500)


Recipient of this year’s
Nancy Schrier Award

nominated by

Joshua Contreras and Stephanie Chan

About the Scholarship

Nancy G. Schrier was an enthusiastic teacher at Foothill College for 25 years and enjoyed sharing her passion for poetry and fiction with students. The purpose of this fund is to provide annual award(s) to Foothill student(s) nominated and chosen by Foothill Language Arts faculty. Specifically, the award is for a student who has taken at least one English class in the current academic year and has demonstrated a passion for creative writing and/or poetry.  Special consideration is given to those students who have persevered in the face of challenges to pursue their education.

Jason Whitten Memorial Award for Outstanding English Students ($1000)


recipient of this year’s
Jason Whitten Memorial Award

nominated by

Words of Gratitude

Tyrell Baker with sonAs a student with a disability, a father, and a husband, sometimes life can get overwhelming. I owe an immense debt of gratitude to the donors who made this award possible, Dr. Scott Lankford for nominating me, and to the Language Arts department at Foothill for selecting me. I could not have made it this far without all of your help and support, and I will never fully be able to express what it means to me and my family.

–Tyrell Baker

About the Scholarship

This award honors a student who has taken at least one English class in the current academic year, has persevered in the face of challenges to pursue their education, and who has become an outstanding student in English as demonstrated through their writing. The student should have a passion for reading and writing but have also overcome adversity to succeed at Foothill.

Anne Paye Award for Demonstrated Facility with Language ($500)


recipient of this year’s
Anne Paye Award for Demonstrated Facility with Language

nominated by

About the Scholarship

Over her long career as an English faculty member at Foothill College, Anne Paye evinced a profound appreciation for the novel use of language. This award is given to a Language Arts student who has demonstrated a similar love of language. The student’s writing may not have been perfect or free of error, but it showcased language in new, interesting, and/or exciting ways; the student might have marshaled unexpected evidence in support of an argument, or they may have turned a phrase so exactly that the reader was given pause to reflect. The student’s writing should call attention to itself both for its precision and its insight.

Fred H. McClure ESL Award ($500)



recipients of this year’s
Fred H. McClure ESL Award 

nominated by
HILDA FERNANDEZHilda Fernandez and Sonia Hernandez-Hernandez

About the Scholarship

This award is for non-native English speakers who have distinguished themselves in an ESLL or English class. This recognition should go to exemplary students whose work and work ethic demonstrated a commitment to learning and excelling. The students may not necessarily have been “A” students, but should have demonstrated through class work and participation an above average engagement in the learning process. The award recognizes the students’ determination to learn and grow, to highlight their persistence, perseverance, and eagerness to reach beyond the standard outcomes of a course.

Past Award Celebrations

6000 Building

We're Here to Help!

Sheherazade Arasnia,  Language Arts Division

Room 6406

Office Hours

Wednesday-Thursday: 8-4:30 p.m.