Student studying in campus center


Foothill College Accreditation

Reaffirmation of Accreditation 2024

Foothill College is scheduled to have a focused site visit on Sept. 30 and Oct. 1, 2024 as part our reaffirmation process.

The peer review team will base their formative and summative evaluations from the college's Institutional Self-Evaluation Report (ISER) that was submitted to the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC) in December 2023. 

ACCJC Communication

Accreditating Body

Foothill College is accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC) Western Association of Schools and Colleges, an institutional accrediting body recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation and the U.S. Department of Education. The public can submit comments about Foothill College by completing the ACCJC's third-party comment form. Additional information about accreditation, including contacting the Commission, can be found here

Institutional Self-Study 2023

The Institutional Self Evaluation Report (ISER) effort began in Spring 2022 when teams of classified staff, faculty, and administrators were formed. Team members identified the appropriate evidence in Fall 2022 and writing began in Winter 2023. The first draft was shared with the college community for feedback in Spring 2023. Editing occurred in Summer 2023 with a second draft available for review in Fall 2023. A third draft was reviewed by college stakeholders and approved by the Mission Informed Planning Council (MIPC) on November 17, 2023.

See our 2024 reaffirmation process and timeline.

See the ISER Peer Review Team members.


Accreditation Cycle 2017-2024

Throughout a continuous seven-year review cycle, the college conducts and publishes several review instruments, including:

  • an annual report
  • an annual fiscal report
  • a midterm report
  • an institutional self-evaluation report
  • an evaluation review by a team of peers

Accreditation Cycle Year 7

Accreditation Year Cycle

Current 2023-2024 Activities

Foothill has finalized an institutional self-study report (ISER) as part of its 2024 reaffirmation cycle. The college's ISER is due to ACCJC on December 15, 2023, followed by a site visit in October 2024.

Activities include:

  • ISER submission
  • Core Inquiries Report (formative review)
  • Mission Statement revision
  • Vision Statement revision
  • Educational Master Plan update
  • Institutional Learning Outcomes review

Foothill College views accreditation as an ongoing process and invites community members, students, faculty and staff to be informed and participate.

Seven-Year Planning Calendar

Year 1 2017-2018
Year 2, 2018-2019
  • VFS/SEA metrics (CO)
  • Program review
  • Revise budget request process
Year 3, 2019-2020
Year 4 2020-2021
Year 5 2021-2022
  • Submit Midterm Report: Foothill College submitted its Midterm Report 2021 for submission, due on October 15, 2021.
  • ISER Kickoff & Training
  • ISER team formation
Year 1 2022-2023
  • Write ISER
  • Plan updates: Online Learning, Distance Learning, Technology
  • Student Equity Plan 2.0 due (CO)
  • Strategic Vision for Equity (SVE) 13-55 Implementation begins
  • Mission statement review
Year 7, 2023-2024
  • Submit ISER
  • Receive Core Inquires report (formative review)
  • Vision statement review
  • Educational Master Plan update
  • Governance Handbook update
Year 1 2024-2025
  • Site visit (summative review)

Accreditation Steering Committee

The Accreditation Steering Committee is an ongoing committee comprised of constituency representatives from administrators, classified staff, and faculty. The committee oversees the college's accreditation planning process, including the work of the Midterm Study Group and the Institutional Self-Evaluation Study (ISER).

Current Members

  • Joshua Agupugo, ASFC President
  • Stacey Glexiner, VP Instruction
  • Kurt Hueg, AVP Instruction
  • Simon Pennington, AVP College and Community Relations, Marketing, and Communications
  • Adiel Velasquez, Classified Senate President
  • Voltaire Villaneuva, Academic Senate President
  • Elaine Kuo, Accreditation Liaison Officer
  • Kelaiah Harris, Office of Instruction


If you have questions, comments or concerns, contact